Talking Saves

I’ve been struggling with some pole tricks for awhile now. Last week I finally got them, all because I just would not shut up.

There’s this trick called an inside leg hang (Pole Dance Dictionary) that I had at one time, but then definitely lost all capability of success. It hurt that all of a sudden I wasn’t able Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 1.20.51 PMto do a trick I worked so hard to achieve. I blamed it on my weight. I blamed it on my level of physical activity that week. I blamed it on my crappy knees. I just couldn’t understand how I had lost my ability.
And then I had class last week. I was definitely struggling with my self-esteem, and I didn’t want to take my shirt off even to do the trick. But, it’s pole. After going into it, I was so shocked how easy it was to do. I was able to get it though, because I kept talking. Literally. I just kept chatting away to the other girls, myself, anyone. It got me out of my judgmental head and distracted enough to just go for the trick. You know what? I nailed it every time.

At the end of the day, we all need to just get out of our heads.

What about you? What gets you to turn off the negative voice in your mind?

Leave a Reply

